Meet Brittany!


BrittanyName: Brittany Smith

Title at MLJ: Home Study Assistant

What do you actually do with MLJ? I help families complete the Home study process and the Post Adoption Reports after their adoption is complete. I also help the Support Services department in walking alongside families through their adoption process.

What is your favorite part about what you do with MLJ? My favorite part is meeting the families who have trusted in MLJ Adoptions to be their adoption service provider. I love to hear and see their hearts for adoption and the desire they have to give forever families to children who are in need.

How long have you worked with MLJ?  I started as an Adoption Preparation Intern in August 2014. I was officially hired on the team in May 2015.

What do you think makes you excellent at what you do? I am a people person and I love to hear the stories of each of our families. I am very passionate about orphan care and I see the heart that the Lord has for the fatherless and I want to help others fulfill that need.

What do you love about adoption? I love that families are giving children a chance to be in a “forever family”. I’m thankful that so many families feel the need to act on John 14:18; I feel blessed to be a little part in their adoption story.

brittany chinaIf you could change one thing about adoption what would it be, why, and how? I want to advocate for adoption and orphan care. I want others to understand why we adopt children and not dogs or highways. I want to help people understand the truth about adoption and help to bring light to many misconceptions that others have. Education is the biggest and most intricate part of orphan care.

What is one thing you wish more people understood about the adoption process? I wish that more people understood the laws and procedures that are in place on the international side. There are laws in place to help make sure that true orphans are being adopted and that child-trafficking is not taking place.

What do you want to tell us about your family?  I am an only child, which I personally would never wish on anyone. My parents were wonderful but they cannot help you put on concerts and dances, they only want to watch them. I always wanted a partner in crime that had the same last name as me. My dream is to have a huge family that is made up of both biological children and children that were welcomed into our family through the adoption process.

When not working, what do you do for fun or to relax?  When I am not working I am with friends or watching sports. I am obsessed with the St. Louis Cardinals and the Indianapolis Colts. I am also a fan of the Indiana Pacers. I will go to any sports game accept golf, it is totally not interesting to me. I also love concerts let me just tell you there is nothing like seeing Justin Timberlake live. I also love to shop but that does not happen often.

Any other fun, interesting facts about you?  I am currently completing my Master’s degree in Social Work at the University of Louisville. I volunteer my time at my church singing on the worship team on Sundays and for Vacation Bible School in the summer.


MLJ Adoptions is a Non-Profit, Hague-Accredited adoption service provider located in Indianapolis, Indiana, working in Africa, Eastern Europe, Latin America and the Pacific Isles. We are passionate about serving children in need.